Letting Go of My Perfect

Since I was a little girl, I had an ideal family pictured in my head. I was married to a handsome man (which I am) and we had a whole brood of children that looked exactly like us. We lived this perfect life where we lived happily ever after.

God shifted that over the past year. If you’ve been reading my past few blog posts, you know that we have decided to adopt. We felt the call of caring for the orphan lay heavy on our hearts by God and we responded. What we did not expect was how God would take our response and ask us to let go of our perfect American Dream even more. Over the past week and a half, we have prayed and cried and prayed and cried all over again. Our hearts began to break for not just the orphan as an infant, but for the orphans that sleep in Tucson night after night with no one to call their forever mommy or daddy. God began to reveal to me that in order to truly enter into the lives of orphans, I must lay down my imaginary family. I once heard someone say that adoption is letting go of your perfect family and willingly bring in the brokenness of this world. I’ll be honest, last week I wept over the loss of my imaginary family, but I woke up the next morning with a peace that I couldn’t explain. A sense that God was hand-picking my family in a way that would bring Him GLORY and would draw me to the cross every day like never before.

Jason and I have been working with a local agency called Christian Family Care and on their website they have a page that has profiles of adoptable children in Tucson/Phoenix area. Since we first heard about CFC, we have looked at those pages and prayed for those children in need of a home. We didn’t expect that we would be actually adopting from that list, but we are…probably. I say probably because we are really not 100% sure if this is the route that we are taking, but we are moving forward in it and feel called to keep moving forward. Tonight we start our 10 week foster class. And this morning we sent in a letter of interest for one of those children. There was a profile on that page that moved Jason and I so deeply last week, that we had to respond. I don’t know what the outcome of that letter will entail, but I do pray that those children will be blessed with a loving family that will let go of their perfect family and enter into whatever brokenness those littles have had to endure their short lives. Selfishly, I pray that God would give us favor and grace to be those parents, but I am not in control of that.

Are we excited? Oh most definitely! Are we nervous? Oh MOST definitely! But above all we are thankful. Thankful that we have been adopted by God into His family. Thankful for His grace in allowing us to be a part of His story of adoption.

This morning I listened to the final sermon of a series called Adopted by Austin Stone Community Church. You can listen to it here. It’s long, so download it and listen to it while you are driving, running, or washing dishes. šŸ™‚ May it move you like it moved me to be praying and caring for the orphan.

Thanks for praying and thanks for supporting us! We will try to keep you 16 followers updated as best we can šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Letting Go of My Perfect

  1. I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS!!! I pray and believe that I adopt in the future, as well, and I’ve been praying lately for adoptive parents and for the Church to gain the Father’s heart for the orphans; and for the hearts of the Fathers and Mothers to turn to the children and for the hearts of the children to turn toward the Fathers and Mothers! You are part of the answer to my/our prayers!

  2. Pingback: Quick Update on Adoption « In Truth and Grace

Leave a Reply

